High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

Changes

6 Comments

Changes

You’ve probably noticed that I’ve changed the name and the look of my blog. I did it because I’ve switched my focus. It wasn’t in my grand scheme of things but as the saying goes: Life is what happens while you’re making other plans. I’ve come to the conclusion that as long as running was my focus, I was going to be plagued by injuries. As much as I love running, I just didn’t want spend a few good weeks running followed by days or weeks of recovery. My recent Achilles tendon issue was just sort of the icing on the cake. It would be dishonest to say that I didn’t have moments of self pity or regret and I’d be lying outright if told you that seeing other runners didn’t fill me with longing but all of that has been rather short lived thanks to my bike. I did more with my running than I could have imagined and I’m very proud of that. So while I’m not going to make any declarations about whether or not I’ll run again, I know it won’t be my focus. At best, running might be an exercise for cross training.

I hope those of you who are following my blog stay with me and I look forward to hearing from other cyclists who I invite to follow me on my new adventures.

Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

6 thoughts on “Changes

  1. I know exactly how you feel. Biking saved me when I couldn't run. Have fun with it but I think you'll return to running. You can do both!

  2. Thanks Darlene! You're sure doing great back in your running shoes!

  3. …and you might try some swimming too! It is easy on the body. Biking is fun…I was Bike Commuter of the Year for my county last year…I rode to work every day…but also got in a run here and there and a swim 3x a week.
    Happy Tuesday!

  4. Wow! Bike commuter of the year is so awesome!

  5. That is awesome, I too love to bike and use it for cross training…I am not going anywhere missy…I love your blog and your friendship…blessings!

  6. Thanks, Shannon! You're a Love. Are you able to ride at all with your injury?

Leave a Reply

