High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

Sunday’s Ride

10 Comments

Need to pedal off that ice cream
After spending a wonderful but intense, nonstop four days with my 3 1/2 year old granddaughter, I couldn’t wait to take my bike out on Sunday and wallow in the solitude of the trails. The weather was cool and overcast but dry and even though weekends can mean a lot of trail traffic, they were less busy than I expected. I spent a glorious 80 minutes exploring different side trails, stopping for a couple of Kodak moments, and enjoying the simple pleasure of being outdoors. Girl and bike…perfect.
Good thing my bike isn’t too heavy.
Off the beaten path.
Taking in the view.

 

Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

10 thoughts on “Sunday’s Ride

  1. Nice views! I actually miss bike riding now that I've started running.

  2. Not too much longer and your granddaughter will be able to join you on your rides 🙂

    Beautiful photos…and a cute kid too!

  3. Lovely shots! Looks like it was a very peaceful ride indeed.

  4. Good to know about your blog Nice views! I actually miss bike riding now that I've started running.
    Thank you for post..

    Herbal Tea

  5. Thanks! She already loves her tricycle. So she'll be good for a bike in a couple of years.

  6. Words can't even express….

  7. Your photos are beautiful. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  8. Wow…love those pic's…what a place to live…that is just awesome…i am thinking i will be adding in a lot more biking to my fitness regime..especially with this injury taking so long to heal…my doctor told me not to even think about running for 12 weeks…oh my goodness…it has only been 4 weeks (this coming Wednesday)…and i have only swam one time…i am hoping to go today…blessings my friend

Leave a Reply

