High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

Starting the Day Right

6 Comments

Steel Cut Oats

Five years ago, if you’d asked me if oatmeal would be a morning staple, I would have wrinkled my nose and rather impolitely exclaimed, “Yuck.” Childhood memories of being force-fed Cream of Wheat (a perennial favorite of my mother’s) still gives me the “herks” some four decades later. (Yes, I know that Cream of Wheat is not oatmeal but it’s that whole instant hot cereal texture thing.) Then when oatmeal became a cholesterol-lowering super food, I tried the flavored instant variety and all it did was make me absolutely ravenous about 30 minutes later due to the high sugar content.
Three or four years ago, though, my stepson, Dan, turned me on to steel-cut oats and it’s been a different story ever since. I love the chewy texture and the way it sticks with me all morning. It’s a great fiber source and when I add some chopped apple, toasted almonds, and raisins, I don’t need a lot of sugar. If I use any at all, it’s only about half of a teaspoon or less. It’s a very healthy, delicious start to the day. Ira and I enjoy it so much we eat three times a week. It’s almost a ritual now.
As an added plus, it’s super easy to make: bring 1 1/2 cups liquid (I use 1 cup organic soy milk and a half cup water) to a boil, add a half cup of steel-cut oats and some raisins, and simmer on low for 20 minutes. I add the chopped apple and almonds after I’ve dished up.

 

Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

6 thoughts on “Starting the Day Right

  1. Looks like something I may have to try. I love oatmeal and Wheat Hearts.
    Happy Biking!

  2. I love oatmeal too. I make mine with skim milk then add chopped walnuts, chia seeds and fresh blueberries & raspberries. Yum!

  3. Mmmm…chia seeds…I'll have to give that a try!

  4. sounds delish…I do love the instant kind but find it doesn't stick with me…I like the chewy texture of the steel cut oats better too!

  5. I don't even like the instant anymore.

Leave a Reply

