High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

Pedaling Groceries

3 Comments

Happy Cats
Yesterday I decided to run all my errands by bike. After I rode to the gym and worked out, I went to Walker’s Healthy Pets to pick up a package of Greenies for our cats (because if kitties aren’t happy ain’t nobody happy), dropped off Ira’s library book, and went to the grocery store to pick up a few things since friends were coming to dinner that night. Excited to use my trunk bag at full capacity hauling groceries home, I failed to keep in mind that the “few things” mentioned above were the operative words. But in my defense, few is a relative term. I passed on getting a jar of salsa because of the weight but should have given more thought to the bananas and oranges. Still I left the store with fewer than 12 items and even though my panniers were full, it didn’t seem like that much…until I started pedaling home.

GroceriesOnce I hit the slow grade going up, I felt like I was cycling through molasses. Then came the steeper inclines where I used all my lower gears, wishing I had more. Slowly I made my way home, exhausted but psyched about my first shopping expedition by bike. Ira was waiting for me and took the trunk bag off my bike. Shocked by the weight, he laughed and said, “I can’t believe you made it up the hill with that!” I was a little surprised myself and took a badly needed recovery nap. Next time, I’ll be a little more circumspect about loading up the panniers, but there will definitely be a next time.

Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

3 thoughts on “Pedaling Groceries

  1. DeeDee – riding home with panniers full of groceries IS working out! So you had a workout after your workout!

  2. I never thought of it that way, Sara. No wonder I needed that nap!

  3. Good job! The hardest thing to ride with is liquid! I had 2 liter bottles of soda for a party and all that sloshing around was too much!

    Happy Weekend!

Leave a Reply

