High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

Junuary and A Cough

4 Comments

We woke up this morning to another Junuary day—heavily overcast, threatening rain, and chilly. It would definitely be a fleece pullover kind of day except that I’ve been waylaid by a nasty cough probably brought on by allergies. The good news is I’m not sick. The bad news is I feel like I’m sick. So instead being in a fleece, I’m tucked in under several blankets, surrounded by my cats, my knitting, and a good book. Except for the cough, I can’t really complain (even though I’m probably vying for the Most Pathetic Award as it is). It could be a lot worse. We could be having a gorgeous summer day (summer is never a sure thing here until after July 4th) where I’d feel even more pathetic because I’d want to be on my bike.

Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

4 thoughts on “Junuary and A Cough

  1. I hope you are feeling better soon! Enjoy knitting and the cats as there isn't much to do on an icky summer day 🙂

  2. Dang those allergies! Hope you're feeling much perkier soon. In the meanwhile, enjoy your kitties.

  3. Thanks! I'm finally feeling better about 75-80% which is great!

  4. Thanks! We actually had a bit of summer yesterday and me and the kitties hung outside together.

Leave a Reply

