High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

AAA Washington Offers Service to Bicycles

4 Comments

AAA Roadside Assistance
I’m feeling really good about Washington being the top state in the nation for bicycle friendliness and I just found out that there is yet another perk about bicycling here. Starting July 1, AAA Washington will offer its members emergency roadside bicycle service. According to their press release:
“AAA Washington’s new bicycle service works exactly like its emergency road service for vehicles. A member with a disabled bicycle due to mechanical failure calls the AAA hotline (800-AAA-HELP) and AAA will dispatch service. The member and their bicycle will be transported to a safe location within the distance their membership level allows: Classic – 5 miles, Plus – 100 miles, or Premier – 200 miles.”
This is huge for cyclists who are a total disaster when it comes to basic mechanics—like me! It’s also a great move by AAA to encourage more people to use their bikes instead of their cars. They won’t fix your problem but they’ll get you to a service station, bike shop, or even home. I have a classic membership. That means living here in Bellingham, they’ll be able to get me just about anywhere I’d need to go. That’s pretty sweet.
I’ve had to use AAA more than once in my driving career and now I can feel a little more secure being out on my bike.
Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

4 thoughts on “AAA Washington Offers Service to Bicycles

  1. Kudos to AAA! That's why I always carry a $20 when I ride…I will offer it to whomever changes my flat 🙂

  2. Here I thought I was the only cyclist who didn't like to change flats! Excellent!

  3. That is so cool! I'm not a cyclist (I'd kill myself on the bike within 5 minutes) but my kids have bikes. Out of curiosity, does this extend to theirs as well?

  4. Jacque, I don't know. You'd have to check with AAA and your kids would have to carry a card with your policy and the roadside service phone number on it.

Leave a Reply

