High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

Cronage

4 Comments

Cronage
‘Cronage’ (krone-ej): The physiological process by which a woman enters her third stage in life—that of the Crone, representing wisdom and repose. Okay, so cronage isn’t a real word. It’s one I made up to describe my personal journey through menopause. Interesting, amusing, and absurdly unpredictable, cronage is a wild ride. Just about the time I think I’m almost through the process, Mother Nature reminds me: “It ain’t over ’till it’s over.”
July has been particularly brutal. After having gone 6 months without a period, I’ve had two already this month both with excruciating cramps that turned me into a whimpering mass of misery that even Ibuprofen couldn’t quite tame. I can take and laugh at the night sweats, hot flashes, and hard to come by sleep. I can even deal with the unpredictable periods. But those sadistic cramps I could do without.
The Janus StoneYesterday was day three of said cramps and I’d had enough. I had a couple of books to pick up at the library and even though all I wanted to do was curl up in a fetal position and wait out the cramps, I decided to hop on my bike and ride to the library. Seven and a half strong miles later, I felt great. My cramps were nonexistent during the ride and while they did show again a little later, I was still on an emotional high from the ride. I used to have a male gynecologist whose only answer for cramps was to exercise. He was unsympathetic and unapologetic. I didn’t like him much for it but he was right to a point—exercise does help. I had a few hours respite after my ride, felt better for it, and had a new book to read.
Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

4 thoughts on “Cronage

  1. Here's to you for your courage to blog about your journey. My sister had a terrible time with menopause…I wasn't looking forward to the time…but the time came and went and I experienced nothing except for lack of periods…no hot flashes, no sleep difficulties…no nothing. I am very active and I attribute it to that….so maybe there is something to it after all. Hope it all passes soon for you 🙂

  2. I envy you. I think my saving grace is that I'm active otherwise I know my symptoms would be worse.

  3. I had a hysterectomy a few years back to do a hemorrhaging problem that was causing anemia…I have been so much happier and do not miss the cramps and severe bleeding …I have 4 children and at 41 am happy with my big family. Sorry you are having to deal with this problem but glad that exercise helps

  4. I have several friends who have missed the whole menopause issue because of hysterectomies. No one has ever said they're sorry they had one. Sigh. Oh well, this too shall pass…one day.

Leave a Reply

