High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

Helmet Hair

6 Comments

Commuting by bike presents one niggling problem for me–helmet hair. While I’m definitely not the most vain person I know, Dee Dee with smooshed, flat hair is rather unbecoming. In fact, back in the 90s when I was wearing my hair shorter than I do now, it wouldn’t hold much of a style and my stepsons started calling me “Hawk” after the character, Hawk in the campy 1990 Buck Rogers TV show. Like most of my many nicknames it stuck, and even now when my hair is flat, Ira is known to say, “pretty good Hawk you’ve got going there.”

Alas, wearing a bicycle helmet almost every day as I do, my “Hawk” makes regular appearances. But I’ve knitted up a solution. Perusing knitting patterns over on Ravelry—a community, organizational tool, and yarn and pattern database for knitters and crocheters— last week, I stumbled across the Cycle Race Beanie by Sandra Jager and knew I just had to have that hat to wear post rides. Hats are du rigeur here in Bellingham, the more…um…interesting the better. And we wear them year round. Now, when the helmet comes off, the hat goes on. Take that Hawk!

Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

6 thoughts on “Helmet Hair

  1. Fabulous hat! Perfect solution.

  2. Thanks! I don't wear a lot of hats but I'll get a lot of use out this one.

  3. I love it, a great solution to helmet hair…good job sweetie.

  4. With the way our summer is going, I can wear that hat now!

  5. That's probably the cost-effective way of having a helmet on your head. lol

Leave a Reply

