High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

Week in Review

4 Comments

I racked up some respectable miles this week…39 to be exact. Could have made it to 40 had I gone for a ride today but my body is telling me to rest so I’m listening. Thirty nine certainly won’t put me in anyone’s “most logged miles” category but it’s a personal best for me. Many of those miles weren’t exactly easy either. Pedaling panniers full of library books up the hill one day and groceries the day after was exhilarating but physically very demanding, plus I challenged myself to take longer routes with steeper hills. And I didn’t use my car at all the entire week. I’m feeling it all today for sure but how I love it!

This coming week I’m shooting for 40-45 miles and sometime this summer I’d like to hit the 50-mile mark. Tacking on an extra mile or half mile to each ride ought to get me there in no time at all. Weeeeee!
Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

4 thoughts on “Week in Review

  1. Wow your doing great sweetie…sorry I've been MIA, I was without my laptop and being on bed rest cannot use the other computers in the house. I will do my best to catch up…thanks so much for coming by the blog and commenting…sounds to me like your having a blast this summer on the bike.

  2. All miles are not equal that's for sure! A week without using your car — awesome!

  3. Sometimes I wish I lived somewhere flat where I could head out Andrade forever but I do love the challenges of the hills!

Leave a Reply

