High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

Twenty Miles in Two Days

4 Comments

In my quest to increase my weekly mileage, I pulled off two 10ers Monday and Tuesday. Monday’s was intentional. It was gym day and my round trip is about 8-1/2 miles so it was just a matter of going a few blocks further than my normal route. Tuesday’s 10-mile ride happened simply because it was a beautiful day. Temperatures were in the 60’s with a gentle breeze and the sky was sparkling blue. I rode down to the pharmacy and library and then rode out of my way to Whatcom Falls, perhaps the most photogenic spot in Bellingham. I wound my way along to the trail’s end and picked up a bike lane at Northshore Drive that parallels Lake Whatcom, backtracked a bit to my neighborhood, and then home. It was one of those days I felt that I could have biked forever…except that by the time I hit Northshore, I had to pee and the closest facility was home.

Today is another gorgeous day and another ride down to the gym. Then it’s a stop at Trader Joe’s for some pizza dough (the best) and chocolate, and a drop-in at Avenue Bread for some…well…bread. It’ll be close to another 10 by the time I get home, which will put me well within reach of hitting the 50-mile mark for the week. How sweet is that?

Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

4 thoughts on “Twenty Miles in Two Days

  1. Good job, D2! Way to go!

  2. Way to go Dee Dee…your doing great! I miss riding…but I'll get back to it soon I'm sure

  3. A 50 mile weekly goal — I like! (:

Leave a Reply

