High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

Lessons Learned In 52 Miles

1 Comment

It was easier than I thought and happened faster than I expected. With 42 miles under my belt by Sunday morning, I knew I’d come close to my longer-range goal of logging 50 miles in a week. But the kicker was, we were experiencing high temperatures over the weekend. Most people don’t have air conditioning here. For the very few days of really hot weather we get during the summer, it just doesn’t pay. But when we do get those days, it can get very uncomfortable. By 9:00 Sunday morning, it was already sticky and quite warm. But I was determined to get out on my bike and accumulate a few more miles. I imagined I’d get about four or five in by the time the heat got to me.
I made the decision to have this be an easy ride, avoiding as many climbs as possible, using my gears wisely (I have a tendency to muscle through some climbs instead of gearing down), and taking it slow. I rode about four hot, sweaty miles on the roads and thought about heading back. Then I just sucked it up and headed for the trails and the trees. The shade quickly reinvigorated me and I had a glorious ride through the woods. By the time I returned home, I had gone 10 miles. That put me over my goal by two miles! I felt remarkably good after the ride and even better after a cool shower. When Monday morning rolled around, it was much cooler and I got a good start to this week by riding more than 11 miles—my longest ride to date.
That ride on Sunday taught me a couple of lessons. First, gears are there to use. The more intelligently you use them, the more energy you have, and the farther you can go. Second, even under less than ideal conditions, sometimes you just need to go for it and enjoy the experience. The results can be awesome!
Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

One thought on “Lessons Learned In 52 Miles

  1. It really seems to be true: you never regret going for a ride. Congrats on reaching your goal.

Leave a Reply

