High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

Owning the Road

2 Comments

As I become more comfortable on my bike, I’m a also more comfortable when my rides include spending time on the roads. Changing my mindset from feeling like an interloper to knowing that I have as much right to be there as anyone else has made all the difference. I call it my “owning the road” mentality. Riding like I belong there has turned fear into a healthy respect for road travel. However, it doesn’t mean that I am fearless. I am all too aware of my vulnerability against cars and trucks so I exercise great caution, wear bright clothing, use my lights in flash mode on cloudy or overcast days, follow the rules of the road scrupulously, and am hyper vigilant of my environment. Always at the forefront of my mind is the fact that there are drivers out there who don’t pay attention or worse, have no respect for my right to share the road. It’s just the way it is when you’re on a bike.
No matter how comfortable I am on the roads though, I always breathe a bit easier when my journey takes me back to the trails where I can relax and enjoy the relative peace and quiet of riding under the trees—something that not even the quietest road can offer.

 

Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

2 thoughts on “Owning the Road

  1. I too enjoy the quiet solitude of riding alone, at times…Nature is a wonder to behold, isn't it! Blessings and hugs sweetie!

  2. Good to hear from you, Shannon!

Leave a Reply

