High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

Bragging Rights

4 Comments

Catherine and Gary

My daughter-in-law, Catherine, rode 25 miles last Saturday, in Pelotonia, a grass roots bike tour with one goal…to end cancer. Over 6200 cyclists rode in the event held in Columbus, Ohio, and raised over $10,000,000. Catherine enjoyed the experience so much that she says she’s ready to do 100 miles next year. I couldn’t be more proud of her.
Catherine started training for her ride well after I began riding again back in May. It was, after all, her simple suggestion that I ride in lieu of running after I hurt my Achilles tendon. And it was her inspiration that got me into running. She also gets the credit for getting me to a nail salon to have my first pedicure just a few years ago which in turn has turned into a regular social event for me and my friends who every 6 weeks or so go out for lunch and then have our toes done en masse. But I digress. As much as I love cycling, I was absolutely thrilled to learn that she decided to take it up so she could ride in Pelotonia.  She got a bike, began training, and even though she only had a few weeks of riding behind her she finished the ride. That she’s eager to ride 75 miles more next time is just too cool for words.

So please excuse me for boasting about Catherine. She is an amazing, wonderful person who has been an inspiration to me and I just couldn’t help myself.

Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

4 thoughts on “Bragging Rights

  1. That is so exciting…Congrats to Catherine…woohoo! I love the pedi in masse part!

  2. Go girl! Team in training has a ride called STP…Seattle to Portland a 200 mile 2 day ride. it raises $ for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society which is dear to my heart since my daughter is a childhood leukemia SURVIVOR. I rode the 100 mile America's Greatest Bike Ride 2 x with TNT….there are also smaller rides that are fun to ride for many causes. This summer I rode a 100k for the lung association but missed some other ride since I am in New Zealand for 1 more day.

    Enjoy your rides…Happy Tuesday from downunder

  3. Personal trainer/amateur coach Gary is proud of her too! Those training hills must have helped even though they really aren't fun when ur in the moment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

