High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

Weird Week

3 Comments

This past week was just plain weird for me. It started off great with a 12-mile ride last Sunday. On Monday, I went for a hike with a couple of friends who are really used to hiking and it really kicked my butt. (You can read more about that on my weight loss blog by clicking here.) I think I’m still recovering from that.
Still sore from my hike, I drove my car to the gym on Wednesday for the first time since I bought my bike and was totally frustrated because I had to find a parking place. And frankly, it just felt odd to drive there. I had a pleasant but uneventful ride to the knit shop for my knitting group. But in keeping with my bizarro week, I arrived at 9:30 and though the shop is usually open at 9:00 the owner was running late and didn’t show up until close to 10:00 so I sat on a curb outside the shop playing Angry Birds on my iPhone.
I rode to the gym and back on Friday and had a double whammy on the way home. First a squirrel ran out suddenly from the bushes right underneath my bike, grazed the front tire and leapt into the bushes on the other side of the trail before I could even register what happened. I don’t think it was hurt and thankfully, I didn’t crash. I made it to the top of the hill near home and a very nice woman stopped her car to let me cross the street on Alabama. After checking for further traffic coming from the other side, I made it halfway across when a van came barreling down. Although I had loads of time and made it well across before he even came close, he decided to scream at me anyway. Angry drivers are part of the deal when you bike but I still found it disconcerting although not as much as the squirrel incident.
Saturday was the last day of warm weather for a while and I went for a rather respectable 5-mile walk despite a sore lower back that was probably the result of my cat sleeping on it during the previous night.
I look forward to this coming week, to cool weather riding, nice drivers, and squirrels that look before they leap.

 

Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

3 thoughts on “Weird Week

  1. Scary squirrel…Shame on the van driver…I too am looking forward to nicer temps…the mornings have been so great…fall is in the air!

  2. This is my favorite time of year for sure.

  3. Yikes to the squirrel! That happened to me once on my road bike in the rain. I closed my eyes and screamed explicatives and when I opened them he was gone! I knew I couldn't brake or I would fall.
    TGIF!

Leave a Reply

