High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

Ready for the Weather

4 Comments

There is no longer just a hint of autumn in the air; fall weather is here in all its glory. Until very recently, it’s been remarkably dry with gorgeous, crystal clear days, falling leaves, and awesome riding. But it’s been tricky to navigate the frigid downhill rides in the morning. Layering has been key because the ride back up can still be a very warm, sweaty endeavor. My downhill attire consists of winter riding pants or running tights, cycling jacket, my ANSI-yellow rain/wind jacket, balaclava, wool socks, and a pair of running gloves worn with my riding gloves. But as the mornings have gotten chillier, my glove set up was no longer working and my fingers were like icicles in no time. In the last few days my legs have been feeling the bite too. And it’s only going to get colder and wetter…much wetter.
So the other day I headed over to REI and spent some time talking with the staff about cycling gloves and pants for our winters. With rain always a threat, I need both wind and cold protection so I ended up with a pair of REI Minimalist Gloves and NovaraHeadwind Bike Pants. The gloves are not cycling gloves per se; they are actually made for multi-sport use. But they have a soft, tricot lining that provides some padding and wicking and if I need more, I can always wear my cycling gloves underneath them. The pants are made out of breathable, wicking fabric, are wind proof up to 60 mph, and water repellent for light rain and snow. (Light rain and mist are the most common types of wet weather here so I really don’t need anything more than that.) Made specifically for cycling, though unpadded, they are roomy enough to wear padded shorts or tights underneath, roomy through the knees, and have a high back for ultimate protection. Keeping my lower back and butt dry will be key. Zippered ankles make getting in and out a breeze even with my shoes on which will be perfect for riding down to the gym.

Now I’m set and plan to do a lot of riding in the upcoming months.

 

Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

4 thoughts on “Ready for the Weather

  1. Awesome gear…You have been nominated for the Liebster Blog Award sweetie…come on over and find out what to do next!

  2. Wow! How cool. Did you do that?

  3. I'm not sure what I'm supposed to do. Is there a link?

  4. Dee Dee…just come by my blog and right click on the award picture on the right hand side bar here is the link to the post http://runningsurvivor.blogspot.com/2012/10/im-liebster-award-nominee.html also…on a side note…I am trying to start a “Count your many blessings” (it seems we have much to be thankful for)movement within the blogging community…I will post on Sunday the 4th for Nov. 1-4 then next week 5-11 and so on…are ya with me? Pass it along either way, blessings and hugs! Link back to me if you could..thanks!

Leave a Reply

