High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

State Senate Says No Money for Transportation Safety

Leave a comment

After the collapse of the I-5 Bridge in Burlington and the chaos it created don’t you think that improvements to our transportation infrastructure would be on top list of legislative priorities? Not! In a stunning display of lets-not-spend-revenue-on-important-stuff, the Washington State Senate just released its proposal for new transportation revenue that increases the gas tax by 10.5 cents to raise $8.4 billion and spends nothing ($0.00) on infrastructure, transit, bicycling, and pedestrians.

This from the Bicycle Alliance of Washington:

This bad proposal fails to meet the most basic needs to help Washingtonians to get safely to wherever they need to go. Public polling shows time and time again that Washington voters support fixing our broken roads and bridges and funding transit, bike, and pedestrian infrastructure more than new highways. But this new proposal would spend $3.6 billion on new mega-highway expansions and $0 on transit, bicycling, and pedestrians. This is outrageous.

Great! Let’s build a more roads, encourage as many trucks and cars to be on the road as possible, while keeping our fingers crossed that the bridges actually hold. As an avid cyclist, sometime pedestrian, and admitted gephyrophobe, I want the state to spend at least something on making it safer to ride, walk, and cross bridges. The fact that nobody was killed when the I-5 bridge came a-tumblin’-down is somewhat of a miracle and we probably won’t be so lucky the next time.

Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

Leave a Reply

