High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

The Heat is On

5 Comments

We’re in the midst of a mini heat wave here in this far northwest corner of the United States. I use the term heat wave loosely because really the temps will only be in the low 80s here in Bellingham, which is a walk in a frozen park compared to the heat waves they have in the South and East…or Death Valley. Having lived in the first two places (Does anyone actually live in Death Valley?), I know how ridiculous our version of a heat wave is. But when your average summer temp is around 72, when most houses still don’t have air-conditioning, and those same houses have lots of windows so we catch as much light as possible during our long gray winters, temps in the 80s can be miserable and we are quite vociferous in our bitching about it. But around the time the complaints hit their peak and we once again consider forking out thousands of dollars for air-conditioning, we’re back down to reasonable temperatures, we get some rain, and life is sweet.

I’ve never liked the heat. Whether that’s due to my Scandinavian ancestry or just the fact that I’m a wimp, I’m not sure. So I love living here in the land where polar fleece is the height of fashion and socks with sandals are worn with pride. That means that I spend a lot more time riding in cooler or cold temperatures than I do when it’s actually hot. And I like it that way. I can put on enough clothes to stay warm but I can only shed so many before I have to cover myself in body paint, invite a few of my friends, slather on the Chamois Glide, and declare a naked bike ride. Ewww!

On those days when I know the temperatures are going to soar, I try to get out early when it’s still in the 60s and that means I have to get off my iPad, dislodge the cat, and will myself to not refill my coffee. Like today! Then I spend a lot of time riding the wooded trails where I usually encounter many Bellinghamsters with the same idea. By the time I do about 16 miles, it’s already hot and I really do shed all my clothes, skip the body paint, and hop in the shower. Then I can spend the rest of the day in the shade with my iPad, cats, and coffee…iced.

Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

5 thoughts on “The Heat is On

  1. It’s nearly 4 pm and 92 degrees F here in our particular Bellingham micro-climate. Double EWWWW! I’m completely in tune with you: anything over 72 and I start complaining. (One of the very good reasons I left Los Angeles). Shade and iced coffee and cats (as long as they aren’t on my lap in the heat) sounds perfect.

    • 92? Yuck! Hey, I’m not getting much relief in the shade right now either. the cats aree hanging out with the fans and my coffee is warm. We’re potlucking it with neighbors tonight. I’m grilling and pouring wine, they’re doing everything else including setting up to eat on their deck.

  2. Ditto here Deedle. But I use the pool and swim my ass off instead of the bike. You rock!

    Sent from my iPad

  3. Pingback: The Absurd To The Ridiculous | Cindy Holman

Leave a Reply

