High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

(Near) Death by Roadie

2 Comments

They don’t appear to enjoy what they’re doing and they don’t appear to know you exist      Bike Snob

Can you find the bell? Nope, 'cause there isn't any!

Can you find the bell? Nope, ’cause there isn’t any!

The morning was stunning. Sunny, warm, a cool breeze gently rippling through the trees. Riding the trails on my way to pick up a few groceries and drop off a library book, I maneuvered my bike deftly and politely around the throngs of runners, walkers, and other cyclists also out enjoying our ever-elusive sun, my bell in almost constant use. The streets weirdly enough were quiet in comparison, probably because half the town of Bellingham was on the trails. So on the way home with my panniers loaded down with food, I plodded along in the bike lane thoroughly enjoying being out on the road. Suddenly, and without warning, four road cyclists blew by me like they were three minutes late for a Lycra sale, scaring the crap out of me. They were lucky I didn’t yank my handlebars to the left and plow through the lot of them. Leaving me in their dust, they sped on not knowing nor caring that they almost gave me a heart attack.

Roseanne RoseannedannaI’m quite aware that I am basically a dork on wheels. In my ANSI orange vest, pink helmet, colorful arm sleeves that seldom match whatever else I’m wearing, astride a tall mountain bike tricked out with side mirror, pink bell, trunk bag with a piggy button attached at the back, fenders, and extra grips on my handlebars that resemble the horns on a bull, I am the antithesis of what those road bikers were – or thought they were. Heck, I don’t move fast even when I’m going downhill. So I’m sure that being behind me was like Sophia Vergara sharing the red carpet with Roseanne Roseannadanna. I get it. But c’mon! Slow moving dorkiness aside, I deserve some courtesy, if not respect. While I know no roadie with an ounce of decorum would ever have a bell, a simple “On your left!” isn’t too much to ask. Just because I don’t fit in with your style of cycling, doesn’t mean you have to act like an ass!

I put my (near) death-by-roadies quickly aside and rode the rest of the way home with a smile on my lips and a song in my heart, (I Will Survive) perfectly content with the fact that I had to be nowhere fast.

Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

2 thoughts on “(Near) Death by Roadie

  1. Yikes! What a bunch of jerks. But you and your fabulous style will survive them every time. LOVE the writing!

  2. Pingback: Please! Call Me Fred | High On Bike

Leave a Reply

