High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

Flying Bicycle? I Need to Change My Pants

4 Comments

StingrayWhen I was a kid, I regularly climbed a big flowering plum tree in front of my friend’s house, pretending it was a spaceship. I flew that tree all over the universe always landing on some new, strange, and wonderful planets.  When I landed I climbed out of the tree and hopped on my blue Schwinn Sting Ray (which was really an amalgam of a Jetsons-esque hovercraft, motorcycle, and army tank complete with a death laser). Woe to any unfriendly life forms be it Klingon, Martian, or the neighborhood curmudgeon, when I had them in my sights! I spent hours “flying” through the neighborhood blind to everything but my imagination, only coming back down to earth again when it was time for dinner. Far too soon my
childhood slipped away and the idea of a flying bike was slowly beaten
out of me by the realities of life. (I think I hear the distant sounding
the waaah-mbulance.)

Flying Electric BicycleThen the other day I was scrolling through online news and discovered that some Czechs just tested a prototype of an electric, flying bicycle. OMG! My inner child almost wet its pants with excitement. The prototype is heavy, weighing over 200 pounds, and hasn’t been tested outside on humans (that’s a dummy in the image), plus it needs two electric batteries attached to what are basically humongous fans. But who cares if it’s pretty much the most ridiculous-looking contraption ever?  That’s a bicycle and it hovered in the air for five minutes! Take that reality! The only thing missing is the laser.

Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

4 thoughts on “Flying Bicycle? I Need to Change My Pants

  1. When you get one of these LMK. I will be right behind you on that trip to Alpha Centura. Minus the ray gun of course!

  2. I love it when childhood dreams come true! Dream on!

Leave a Reply

