High On Bike

A Bellinghamster On Wheels

What Bicycling Feels Like

14 Comments

If it isn’t apparent by now you’re probably not paying enough attention so let me remind you that I LOVE riding my bike. I spend an inordinate amount of time carefully crafting my words to get this across. But sometimes a picture can capture a feeling more than any amount of words,carefully crafted or not, can describe. The Bike Shop Hub posted this pic on Facebook the other day and they nailed it. This is exactly how I feel every time I push off for a ride.

Every time
I would say that nothing more needs to be said but then there would be no need to write this blog and I know that you would be devastated if that happened so I won’t.

Author: d2

I ride because it's fun. It's also healthy, good for the environment, and my gas budget but if it wasn’t fun, none of that would matter. It's what gets me on my bike almost every day, even when I'm tired, not feeling my best, or just not in the mood. No other form of "exercise" has equaled it. I used to love to run but I was injury-prone and couldn't do it every day. I certainly couldn't jog down to the store and come home with dinner. Walking is okay but definitely falls around midpoint on the fun scale. I enjoy it, especially when I'm walking with a friend, but am not exhilarated by it. So I ride.

14 thoughts on “What Bicycling Feels Like

  1. Love the photo!! I was one of the drivers who stopped as you crossed Woburn yesterday at about 11:45 am. I think your expression matched the photo!!

  2. We just bought new bikes yesterday, and of course it’s raining today. We’re headed on a road trip to central OR so hopefully we’ll get to ride them there, I hope I start riding mine as much as you ride yours! Love the pic!

  3. Shared that same pic! In crater lake, while on a long down hill, my wife was parked a couple miles down to give me fresh Gatorade. She said she could hear me signing all the way down the hill! Why? Cuz it’s fun!

  4. Reblogged this on Bright Blue Line and commented:
    She nailed the description of the joy for cycling. Great post!

  5. I feel like that everytime I get on my bike whether it is a race or a leisurely ride on a trail. Even after my latest crash, I still love riding my bike.

Leave a Reply

